Probably the best amateur theatre club in
Ashton Hayes

Wyrd Sisters

Terry Pratchett


Wyrd Sisters features three witches: Granny Weatherwax; Nanny Ogg, matriarch of a
large tribe ofOggs, who owns the most evil cat in the world, (Greebo); and Magrat Garlick,
the junior witch, who firmly believes in occult jewellery, covens and bubbling cauldrons,
much to the annoyance of Granny Weatherwax and Nanny Ogg.

King Verence I of Lancre is murdered by his cousin, Duke Felmet, after his ambitious wife
persuades him to do so. The King's crown and child are given by an escaping servant to
the three witches. The witches hand the child to a troupe of travelling actors, and hide
the crown in the props-box. They acknowledge that destiny will eventually take its course
and that the child, Tomjon, will grow up to defeat Duke Felmet and take his rightful place
as king.